6 steps to answering the “Purpose” question

What is my purpose? Why am I here? What is the meaning of my life? These are questions that most of us are plagued by and drive some of us to the cliffs of insanity. I remember asking these questions for months on end and then I read a book that posed the question a little different than I had ever thought. The author said instead of asking what is the purpose of my life ask what can add purpose to my life? Instead of looking for meaning Look for what would make your life meaningful? So this simple twist in how I was thinking followed by these 6 questions started answering my “Purpose” question and I am sure will help you as well.

1) who do I want to become? If I see myself in 1-3-5 years from now, what kind of character do I want to have? What kind of person do I want to become?
2) why do I want to become that type of person?
3) how do I become that type of person?
4) what do I want to do?
5) why do i want to do it?
6) how can I do it?

These 6 questions are so simple but I had never seriously put much thought behind them. My answers to my Purpose question started coming when I clearly defined ON PAPER who I wanted to be and what I wanted to do in my life. The 2&4 questions I thought were irrelevant until a great friend and mentor of mine explained to me that unless I know why I want what I say I want; that I would never make a plan, stick to the plan, hold myself accountable or persevere through the hard times that the 3rd and 6th questions were sure to bring. Then questions 3&6 how do I become who I want to become and do what I want to do? A life lesson gave me a jumpstart on these. The lesson came from a talk that Jim Rohn gave where he said “we are all creatures of habit and for things to change you have to change. It starts by building small disciplines that lead to greater and greater disciplines.” So to answer my 3rd and 6th question I looked at what would need to be true in my life for me to accomplish what I wanted too. And that gave me a list of disciplines that I needed to start developing and fears that I needed to start overcoming and this gave me a road map of sorts that is leading me to becoming the man I want to become and I am sure that same road map can work for you also.

What are some other questions or steps that have helped you answer the “Purpose” question?

Please leave a comment. I would love to hear some of your answers.

These 6 questions came from a book called The Top 10 Distinctions Between the Millionaire and the Middle Class by Keith Cameron Smith
Great book that is a must read for anyone wanting more out of life.

1 Comment

Filed under Personal Development

One response to “6 steps to answering the “Purpose” question

  1. tloftis2012

    Awesome

Leave a Reply

