Overcoming the fear of Change

Most of us (and by most of us I mean ME I just don’t want to feel like I’m the boat by myself) avoid change like it is the plague. Over the last year change has been a consistent companion in my life and the results of that have been seeing dreams and wishes start becoming realities. So what happened? What changed to take me from avoiding change and running from it at nearly all cost to embracing it?

20120528-211656.jpg
Someone once said “we change when the pain of staying the same becomes greater than the pain of change.” this is a picture of disgust and I would second that desire is equally as strong an emotion. That when you want something more than you want safety and security that it also will drive you to change.
Well my life one year ago was filled with both of these emotions. I was sick and tired of not being able to provide financially for my family. I was also in time debt and I didn’t want someone else being the father and mentor to my kids. I wanted to be there for them and my wife and to be the leader of my family. And this is just two points off of a five page list of things that I wanted or didn’t want in my life. Long story short my disgust with where I was and my desire for more out of life mixed together with wisdom from other mentors in my life, who were where I wanted to be, gave me everything I needed to overcome the fear of change.
I want to leave you with a few point and a few quotes that may help you change into the man or woman you want to become.

Make a list of desires and disgust (desire list is things that are not currently true that you want to be true) (disgust list is things that are currently true that you don’t want to be true)

Find a mentor who is where you want to be that will help you get there.

Read good books

Believe in yourself and your dream

“For things to change you have to change” Jim Rohn

“We would all die for our children, but are we willing to change for them” If we don’t embrace change we will never be able to give our best to our kids. Bob Donnelly

It’s not what happens that determines your lifes future but what you do about what happens. You see the same wind blows on us all and it’s not the blowing of the wind that determines where you go it’s the set of the sail. And the sail is your better thinking. Jim Rohn.
Accept responsibility for yourself and your actions.

Change your thoughts and you will change your world. What are some of the changes that have made a difference in your life?

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal Development

Leave a Reply

