What keeps you going when you want to quit

Do you ever just have those days where you want to quit? Where you get hit and it hurts and you want to throw your hands up and say “what’s the point?”.
Maybe you are striving for a goal and you don’t hit it. Maybe you fail. Maybe you just missed a great opportunity.

Anyways I’m having one of those days. I woke up everything is great other than I am an hour late for work. So my routine is a little different but still going good. Then I get a phone call that hits far to close to home. It took me straight to the “I want to quit what’s the point” mindset. So now what? What do I do? I think I now understand how Jeremiah felt when he said

But if I say, “I will not mention him
or speak any more in his name,”
his word is in my heart like a fire,
a fire shut up in my bones.
I am weary of holding it in;
indeed, I cannot. Jeremiah 20:9

I try and quit but my purpose whispers to me WHY I started in the first place. I try and run away and hide but like a fire in my bones my WHY reminds me that even death wouldn’t be an acceptable excuse for quitting. So I find myself here, honestly a little pissed off, between how do I keep fighting and I can’t quit. Now what?

I guess if I can’t quit then I have to fight. So today I will stand on my WHY and I will keep putting one foot in front of the other.

Perseverance is the goal we aim for and is won before the trial. We find the strength we need to persevere when we clearly define our purpose.

For it is our Why that drives us and motivates us to push through the hard times. It is our why that gets us out of bed in the mornings and keeps us going through the nights. It is our why that gives us the courage to make the next call, to overcome the next obstacle, to continue to persevere even when everything in us wants to quit.

20120614-135025.jpg

If your why is big enough, the choices you have to make everyday to see your dreams come true, become automatic. The key is to keep your WHY in front of you. Put it everywhere so you see it everyday. Schedule time to think about it. If this is the gas that fuels the vehicle then you need to fill up the tank at times and the more you go the more often you need to refill the tank.

People may think you are crazy when they see it written on your mirror or on a slip of paper on the dash of your car or if it is the background image of every electronic device you have. Who cares what they think it is not their dreams that are going to suffer if you aren’t reminded of them. And usually the people who want to pick at you are the ones who are to scared to believe in and chase their own dreams so they don’t want you to go after yours either.

1 Comment

Filed under Bible, leadership, life lessons, Personal Development

One response to “What keeps you going when you want to quit

  1. tloftis2012

    You are Def on a Roll today!!! Awesome Awesome Awesome!!!

Leave a Reply

