What order does the bible say your priorities should be in?

What does the two greatest commandments teach us about priorities?

20120615-115240.jpg

Jesus replied: “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ This is the first and greatest commandment. And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbour as yourself.’ All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.” (Matthew 22:37-40 NIVUK)

There seems to be one phrase that is always left off when someone repeats it. Love your neighbor AS YOURSELF. Why is that significant and what does it mean?

If you are a Christian you would probably say God is at the top of my priorities list then my family then my job or ministry.

I know I don’t have all of my priorities right so I can’t give you much advice after about the 4th one down but I have found one thing out that has helped me and I believe can help anyone.

As for priorities Jesus makes it pretty clear who comes first so I am not going to spend time on it. But the second has changed my life. Love your neighbor as yourself. I know it might ruffle some feathers but as far as I can see it we should put ourselves in the second slot. Why? Glad you asked.

I can’t take care of anyone else unless I take care of myself first.

If I don’t fill myself up spiritually. Then I don’t have anything I need to build someone else up. This is one reason I make it a priority to read my bible and pray.

If I don’t make a conscious effort to work through my emotional baggage then I react out of old wounds instead of being in a position to lend a hand.

If I’m not physically healthy enough to carry me then how can I lend a hand.

I have seen way to many people put themselves at the bottom of their priorities list and of those people not many are in a position to help their neighbor. I have found at least in my own life that I am in a much better position to serve if I take care of my spiritual physical and emotional needs first.

As I go down the list I break up my family into two separate priorities. My wife is priority 3 then my kids get 4. But that is a topic for another day.

What are some areas that you think it is important to put yourself first? There has to be more than the 3-4 I mentioned.

Leave a comment

Filed under Bible, Personal Development

Leave a Reply

