What difference does your attitude make

In every area of life; in business, friendships or family the attitude you have when you interact with someone makes all the difference.

20120620-082411.jpg

Last Saturday my lovely wife had just gotten to the lake when I surprisingly got off of work early and realize that I can spend most of the day up there too. The only problem is I don’t believe my work truck will make the 1hr 1/2 trip up there. So I call Paige and Ask her to come pick me up somewhere inbetween. 45 min later she pulls up in the parking lot with a smile and a kiss and we head back up to the lake together to spend the rest of the day together. As the sun started falling and I was sitting on the deck eating dinner with Paige and the kids I realized how perfect everything was. What lead to that was Paige wanted me to have a great experience with her so her attitude was great.

On the flip side if she would have shown up mad that she lost 2hrs at the lake or if she wouldn’t have shown up at all it would have changed the whole atmosphere of the day. I have been stuck reading Philippians for a few weeks now and there is a verse that I keep coming back to that I think paints this picture.

Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather, in humility value others above yourselves, not looking to your own interests but each of you to the interests of the others. (Philippians 2:3, 4 NIV)

Keep this in mind when you are dealing with people. It does not matter if it is a spouse a client a child a friend or a boss. This is what serving looks like. This is what makes the difference of fulfilling an obligation out of duty, which doesnt give life, and out of love which does.

Your attitude reflects the motivations behind what you say and do. So if you have selfish motivations then you will act out of that abundance but if you are motivated by love then that is what you will reflect. Out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaks.

Do you have a good story of a time when someone in business or family did something that made your day?

Leave a comment

Filed under Bible, Personal Development

Leave a Reply

