The First Step to Success in ANY Endeavor!

I walked into a small business yesterday ran by two women under the age of 21. They have great products and a great location and the best part was they had great prices. I was happy with my purchase and felt as though I made a friend with the owner when I had left. On the way home I told my wife how I thought they could become an extremely successful business and she informed me that they, in most circles, already are a success. Thinking back on my experience I believe what surprised me most is how young they where.

So what does all of this mean for us?

When we meet the elusive character we call opportunity most of us stop thinking logically. We instead pull out a list that we have been keeping since we were kids of reasons we can’t accept opportunities challenge. The list usually looks like this.

I have kids, I am to old, I don’t have the money, I could never do something like that, The risk is to high, I wouldn’t be successful, I am busy, I have to much debt, I am to young, I don’t have a degree, It could never happen for me, I have a degree and can’t waste it, I have tried that before and it didn’t work, The economy is to bad, I already have a job, etcetera.

20120628-081708.jpg

So what separates those who are successful and those who are safe? Napoleon Hill has this great quote

“If you think you are beaten, you are, If you think you dare not, you don’t If you like to win, but you think you can’t, it is almost certain you won’t. If you think you’ll lose, your lost For out of the world we find, Success begins with a fellows will– It’s all in the state of mind. If you think you are outclassed, you are, You’ve got to think high to rise, You’ve got to be sure of yourself before you can ever win a prize.
Life’s battles don’t always go to the stronger or faster man, but soon or late the man who wins is the man WHO THINKS HE CAN!”

Let’s throw the old list out. Make a new list of reasons I can and need to. Fill yourself up on stories of others who have captured opportunity and persevered through failure to join the ranks of those who are in the club of the successful. These two girls started by thinking right. They started by believing they CAN. And that is all it takes for you to start your journey as well.

What would you try if you believed you couldn’t fail?

1 Comment

Filed under leadership, life lessons, Personal Development

One response to “The First Step to Success in ANY Endeavor!

  1. tloftis2012

    Amen!!

Leave a Reply

