I used to think living out faith sounded boring Then I read about Jesus and his friends…

I used to think living out faith sounded boring Then I read about Jesus and his friends…

I don’t know if it is my personality or my ADHD but impatience and boredom seem to hang around me more often than they do most people. I don’t follow instructions well and I don’t do great sitting around waiting. This is probably why my lovely bride calls me “Special”. This also explains why I have some problems with religion and faith.

Alexander Woollcott sums up how I viewed Christians before I met Jesus in this quote, “Many of us spend half our time wishing for things we could have if we didn’t spend half our time wishing.”

Around three years ago my entire life changed when I decided to follow Jesus but it wasn’t in the way that I expected. I expected to be changed into this guy who follows the rules and does what other Christians do but I was bored after an hour or two and wanted to go do something exciting. I made one mistake before I tried anything exciting though, I talked to religious people about what I wanted to do. They told me if I want to do awesome stuff I need this special mixture of; belief, hope, patience and prayer. They called this mixture faith. No wonder they spend more time wishing than doing. This equation looked like trying to read Egyptian hieroglyphics without the Rosetta Stone, make your best guess and hope for the best.

I didn’t have a better plan so I went along with their system for about a year and a half. I read the bible like they said, which made me more impatient because I wanted to go on some of the crazy adventures the disciples went on. My problem was I was still bored and there was a lot more waiting than doing. Something I wasn’t a fan of. So I dropped the boring plan and started trying to do awesome stuff like Jesus and his disciples did.

I quickly found out, I’m not as awesome as I thought I was. Nothing I was trying worked but at least I wasn’t bored.
Then just a few months ago Paige and I were talking about our future and what we wanted to do, where we wanted to go, we talked about Jesus and some of the things that he told us to do in the bible and we talked about his character and how we don’t believe he designed everyone to be bored and how he wants us to live exciting passionate lives. At the end of the conversation we hadn’t heard any loud or small quiet voices telling us exactly what to do but after looking at our passions and what we are good at mixed with who God is and what he told us in scripture we felt that he was telling us to just go down the road he was pointing at.

It sounded to simple. Just follow the road to Awesome and look for the road signs called Opportunities. They might be uncomfortable or different but they take you towards AWESOME. It didn’t take long for us to realize that Available and Willing to be used by God were roads the disciples took. So we took those two roads as often as we could.

People say God leads them by an audible voice telling them exactly where to go but for us it seams like God uses the same method he did with the wise men. Most people picture the three wise men following a star that floated right in front of them all the way to Jesus. Sort of like the cloud of fire that God used to lead Moses and the children of Israel around the desert with. I think God lead the wise men by pointing in a direction and said follow the road signs to Awesome and when they reached the end of the road they met Jesus who is Awesome in the flesh.

I used to think living out faith involved being bored and not doing anything wrong Then I read about Jesus and his friends going on awesome adventures and making a difference in the lives of everyone they touched. When I saw them turn the world upside down I decided to follow them down the road towards Awesome.

There is more to life than most of us have ever experienced and it starts with Jesus. And Jesus starts by sharing where he is going and asking if you want to come along on the adventure. Don’t take the boring road, it is for the people who just want to talk about doing something awesome one day. Take the other road, the one less traveled that leads to awesome.

1 Comment

Filed under Bible, life lessons, passion

One response to “I used to think living out faith sounded boring Then I read about Jesus and his friends…

  1. tloftis2012

    This is AWESOME!!!

Leave a Reply

